Loading Events
This event has passed.
** This event still has some vacancies – registration numbers have been increased (21 Nov) – if you are unable to register/attend, note that  the webinar/lecture will be recorded and be available for no charge afterwards via the StrokeEd website (see “Resource Collection “- >”Lecture Recordings”)**
Description: Illegible handwriting and difficulty controlling a pen are common post-stroke. Little research has been published to guide therapists who retrain handwriting in adults (or children). Typical exercises involve non-specific copying of letters and lines of text. Furthermore, few outcome measures target the adult population. This presentation will summarise Australian-led research which explored handwriting behaviour, legibility and speed norms in healthy older adults (age-matched to stroke survivors), developed the Handwriting Assessment Battery, and evaluated the feasibility of a 2-week handwriting retraining program for stroke survivors.
Learning objectives: By the end of the presentation, learners should be able to:

• Name features of handwriting that can be measured

• Use normative legibility and speed data for older adults

• Administer and score the Handwriting Assessment Battery

• Find (the limited) research on adult handwriting retraining

• Describe task-specific retraining strategies for improving handwriting legibility post-stroke/ABI

Time: 6pm-7pm AEDT

* London/ UK/ Ireland BST = 7am / Copenhagen = 8am / Brisbane = 5pm / Perth = 3pm / Adelaide = 5.30pm / Auckland = 8pm / Singapore = 3pm

Presenters: This 1-hr webinar will be presented by:

Dr Annie McCluskey PhD MA DipCOT, Occupational therapist and Director, The StrokeEd Collaboration

Honorary Senior Lecturer
Sydney School of Health Sciences,
Faculty of Medicine & Health
The University of Sydney

Bronwyn Simpson MAppSc BAppSc (Occ Therapy) , Occupational Therapist

Associate Lecturer & PhD Candidate, 

Sydney School of Health Sciences,
Faculty of Medicine & Health
The University of Sydney

Michelle Dettrick-Janes MAppSc BAppSc (Occ Therapy), Occupational Therapist

Private occupational therapist on the Capricorn Coast, Yeppoon, QLD